a blog by levi krusza

I Adopted a MacBook Pro

In Uncategorized on November 10, 2009 at 12:37 am

 

I did it, I finally did it. I went and bought myself e MacBookPro. I’ve been lusting after it for a long time now, the only thing that stood in the way was money. So I saved a little, borrowed it a little, and 20% of it is payment for a project. So, it was a pretty good deal.
I decided to get the 13″, 2.26Ghz, MBP. It comes with 160Gb of storage, and 2Gb RAM. Has the NVDIA Graphics card, as do all the MacBook Pro’s. I am happy to say that I am quite pleased so far. Not only by the performance of the machine, but by it’s overall design, and engineering. Some of my favorite’s are the backlit keyboard, (which I am using right now, coincidently, as I type this post in the dark), also the Multitouch Trackpad is very, very, cool. I took it out of the box, used the trackpad, and didn’t ever want to touch my PC again.
Now mind you, I’m not a Mac virgin. I’ve had three apple COmputers in the past. And this computer truly does surpass the last three, in every aspect of a good computer. But, I’m coming from a Compaq Presario with 1.7Ghz of processing power. Imagine trying to edit video in there. It’s nigh unto impossible. And it takes the fun out if Graphic Design.
MacBook Pro 13" 2.26Ghz

MacBook Pro 13" 2.26Ghz

The last straw for me was rcently at an event thatwe were showing a video project at, my Windows Laptop crashed 3x on me 5 minutes before we were sheduled to play the video. The band had to play two extra songs. Whilst I was paying a loop of the American Flag waving animation for the National Anthem (the event and video was for Senior Recognition Soccer Game) Windows Media Player screwed me over, and the animation wouldn’t loop, instead it gave me an error message.

It’ll be especially nice using a Mac for video projects, since the other main video producer/editor, also uses a Mac, which will eliminate a lot of cross-platform compatibility issues. Of course, since this is only a 13.3″ display, I’ll be using an external display for Video, and Web Projects. Hopefully a 27″, maybe even a 32″.
What are your favorite things about your Mac, and what are your favorite apps that you would reccomend to a new user? Feel free to comment below.

 

Leave a Reply

